The most complete guide to wedding planning and services in Maryland, Washington, D.C. and Baltimore.

Marriage Laws for Upper Marlboro Maryland

Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Prince George's marriage license application. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.

Prince George's County Marriage License Office

Circuit Court Clerk for Prince George's County
County Administration Building
14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive
Room L15
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
(301) 952-3288
8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed state and federal holidays.

ID Requirement in Prince George's:

If you are between 18 - 21, you must provide identification in the form of a drivers license or birth certificate. Only one applicant needs to be present. We recommend bringing identification with you even if you are over 21.

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Maryland. However, you must be married in the county where you purchased your license.

Application Requirement:

Parties should contact the local Court in the County in which they are to be married to determine if both parties need to present upon making application for marriage.

Previous Marriages:

Prince George's County requires that you show your divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county and state of death of your previous spouse.

Covenant Marriage Option: 


Waiting Period in Prince George's County:

There is a waiting period of 48 hours in Prince George's to get married.

How Much a Marriage License Cost in Prince George's:

It will cost you between $35 - $85.00 to get married in Prince George's County. Some counties will only accept cash ... so call to verify what the county charges for a marriage license.

If you have completed a state recognized pre-marital preparation course, you may receive a discount on the license fee.

Other Tests:

Blood Test: No

Proxy Marriages: No

Cousin Marriages: Yes

Common Law Marriages: No

Same Sex Marriages:  Yes. As of January 1, 2013, same-sex marriage is legal in Maryland.

Under 18:

Parental consent is needed if under 18 years of age. If you are between 16-18 years of age, one of your parents or guardian must be with you and provide written consent.  If you are under 16 years of age, you will need both the written consent of your custodial parent or guardian and the written approval of a judge of the Orphans' Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas.  If you are under 18, pregnant or have a child, and show a certificate from a licensed physician stating you are pregnant or have had a child, the parental consent requirement may be waived.



License is valid for 6 months.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Maryland Division of Vital Records
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
P.O. Box 68760
Baltimore, MD 21215-0020


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to  Please include the state and county information. 

*Reprinted from

Marriage Laws for Upper Marlboro Maryland | Maryland Wedding Guide


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.